Skip to content

Uhhh…

March 15, 2005

Jeep has a problem.  See, Jeep makes capable, competent SUVs.  They have the compact Liberty, the mid-size Grand Cherokee, and the "why would anybody in their right mind purchase me as a daily driver" Wrangler. 

However, they lack a full-size SUV, something they can aim against the Chevy Tahoes and Ford Expeditions of the world.

Well, they will not be lacking for long.  Something called the Jeep Commander will be debuting at the fast-approaching New York Auto Show.  It will be big.  It will seat seven.  It will get atrocious gas mileage.  And, by the way things seem to be shaping up, it will also get atrocious styling.  Take a look:

2006_commander_003

Yes, I know.  It looks like something that might have debuted in 1985.  Yet, all the evidence (spy shots, etc) points to a design extremely similar to this.

Now, I don’t mind the slab-sided look.  I love the old Cherokees, FJ60 Land Cruisers, and first generation Range Rovers.  But there is something off about this Commander.  I think it is the headlight arrangement.  Egad!

The pretty much vertical windshield also seems pretty out of place in modern design, but all the spy shots show more or less the same thing.

My question – how the hell did this happen?  Jeep is owned by DaimlerChrylser, who in the last few years has penned the Chrysler 300, Dodge Magnum, the Dodge Charger, and the new Grand Cherokee.  How could they go from those designs to this?

My hope – Jeep has a surprise in store for us under all the black cladding on the test vehicles.  Maybe, just maybe, when they roll out the Commander in New York, we’ll be treated to a production version of this:

Jeep_rescue_image02

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 17, 2005 3:00 pm

    I’m so sad that they stopped making the Cherokee. I drive a classic four-door in fire-engine red and I LOVE IT. Of course, it gets horrible mileage…but dammit, I’m a Texan. I need my BIG OLE’ TRUCK! 🙂

Leave a Reply

