Skip to content

Writing Update

March 9, 2005

With all that has transpired in the last two weeks, my writing time has suffered.  Jamie’s needs, after all, are far more important than a story about people who have been dead for 2,200 years.

Mostly, I have been writing during my lunch breaks.  Armed with my free cup of hot water and my trusty laptop, I have taken to sitting outside the nearby Seattle’s Best and plugging away.

I am, alas, still at work on the pivotal section of the novel, though every day brings me a few paragraphs closer to its close.  Hopefully, I will reach it by the end of the week.  After that, I have only two more sections to go before I can finally lay Chapter XII to rest.

I am hesitant to put any sort of timeline on finishing the novel.  Chapter XIII, I believe, will fall into place with relative ease.  It was originally part of Chapter XII, so I already have it mapped out in my head.  In it, we will see a new Publius Cornelius Scipio emerge, changed forever by his experiences during the Battle of Cannae.

Chapters XIV and XV, however, could prove more difficult.  I somehow have to wrap up the chaotic web of events that follow in Cannae’s wake, while at the same time setting the stage for the second book.  There is a lot to cover and a lot that, unfortunately, must be either omitted or glossed over.

At least I know where and how I want the book to end…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

