Skip to content

“And…She Died”

February 28, 2005

Three words.  Three little words.

I will never forget them as long as I live.

The call informing me that Meg had been killed came while my boss and I were walking back from Whole Foods.  I thought it was another real estate agent wanting to look at the house.  I almost didn’t answer. 

I don’t remember much else that was said.  There was a situation with one of the dogs.  Meg had been attacked…

"and…she died".

Until that moment, I thought one of the dogs was sick.  When I heard Meg had been attacked, I thought she was beat up, bloodied maybe, but not dead.  Never dead.  The thought didn’t so much as enter into my mind.  Three words…

In moments of stray thoughts, those three words whisper in my mind.  They bring back something of the sensation I had when I first heard them.  The tightening of the chest, the numbing of the legs.  For an instant, the world loses its color.  Everything looks faded. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    February 28, 2005 6:59 pm

    Wow. It’s amazing the emotions those three words can bring on.

  2. David permalink
    March 3, 2005 2:00 pm

    I send my condolences.

  3. March 3, 2005 11:54 pm

    Matt, when you left a comment I popped over to your site to catch up on your book, your life, whatnot.

    I am so terribly SORRY to hear about the death of your sweet little puppy. Pets are members of our families and this is absolutely tragic.

    My thoughts are, and will be, with you and Jamie during this difficult time.

    If there is anything you guys need, or anything anyone can do, please don’t hesitate to ask.

Leave a Reply

