Skip to content

The Austin Tea Party

January 28, 2005

Blimey, I’m beginning to develop a taste for tea.  And not the sugar-and-fat chai lattes I already enjoy.  No, I’m talking about good old hot water, leaves ground up and stuffed in a little bag tea.

Blogger Mark will be so proud.

So far I’ve only had exposure to the "English Teatime" variety that’s free at work.  Made by a company called Bigelow.  I’m guessing its not the highest quality brand, if what they stock for coffee is anything to go by.  So I’m sure that there’s a world out there I’m only beginning to experience.

With luck, I’ve found a new regular beverage.  Don’t get me wrong, water kicks ass, but I can’t subsist on it alone.  And I know there are several selections of decaf tea, when I get around to kicking my caffeine habit (aspartame first).

What’s better – unlike every other beverage I seem to enjoy, tea seems to have actual health benefits, rather than detriments.

I look forward to any recommendations of flavors, brands, and the like.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2005 12:53 am

    Oh My god you’ve opened up a Tea Bag of Worms [SORRY]…..brace yourself….my tea induced wrath shall be forthcoming.

    One word .. PG TIPS Look for it in the British import section at Fiesta on I-35 and 38th. If god forbid they don’t have it, then get Red Label instead. Don’t worry, it’s not like Johnny Walker Red….Red Label is a good thing.

    PF Tips is what English people drink if they want English breakfast…..that means it’s English English breakfast … it don’t get more English than that. LOL

  2. mark permalink
    January 29, 2005 1:12 am

    Lance Armstrong and 24 Hour Fitness to Join Forces

    24 Hour Fitness, a global leader in the health and fitness movement, announced its partnership today with six-time Tour de France champion Lance Armstrong. The partnership includes the creation of 24 Hour Fitness Lance Armstrong Sport Clubs – the first of which will debut in Armstrong’s hometown of Austin, Texas in summer 2005.

  3. tulius permalink
    January 30, 2005 1:20 pm

    Irish breakfast teas are generally stronger in both flavor and caffeine than english.

    http://www.bewleys.com/tea/htm/tea_Intro.asp

    http://www.barrystea.com/

    The Earl Grey teas contain an oil which gives them thier distinct flavor and smell. Lady Grey is a lighter version of Earl Grey.

  4. February 3, 2005 2:49 am

    yes tulius, but can you name that oil that gives Earl Grey a distinct flavor and smell?

    I can! I can!

    It’s Bergamot!!! (ummmmmm, Bergamot…..)

    I’m such a smarty pants. And yes, I’ve been this way since I was eight.

    –L.

Leave a Reply

