Skip to content

Breaking the Bonds of Aspartame: Progress Report

January 24, 2005

Last Wednesday I posted something of a "Dear John" letter to my longtime favorite beverage, Diet Coke.

It’s been several days now, and I figured I’d drop back in with a progress report.  Now…I’m not trying to just quit the Diet Coke…that’d be asking for failure.  I’m trying to wean myself off, and so far I think I’m doing pretty good.  It’s amazing what simply not having it around at work or at home can do.

Wednesday, the day I posted, I had eight Diet Cokes.  It’s sad, but that felt like a major cutback.

Thursday, I trimmed back to four.  And one of those was a caffeine free Diet Coke.

Friday, I only had three, and Saturday I only had two.  Sunday I went back to three – basically a beverage with each meal.

And today…I’m only on two so far.  But with dinner and writing awaiting me tonight, it’ll end up being four.

Still, a week ago, four is how many I’d have before lunch.  So…that’s certainly progress.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    January 24, 2005 5:10 pm

    Good job. Stay with it.

Leave a Reply

