Skip to content

What I Did Today

January 16, 2005

March may be the month of spring cleaning, but January is very definitely the month of garage cleaning here around the McDougall Manor.

With the house going on the market in a month’s time, we’re working hard to get it in shape to show.  The computer room and guest room are already taken care of, and today the next room on my list (but probably not Jamie’s) was the garage.

Now, the garage was awful about three months ago.  How awful?  It took me a good half hour of moving stuff to get the Defender out into the driveway.  What I faced today wasn’t that bad, but it was still a cluttered mess.  Here’s a picture from yesterday afternoon – see for yourself.

050115garagebefore

Three bikes, golf clubs, five gas cans full of stale gas, a 12-pack of caffeine free (not mine) Diet Pepsi, and a lot of other crap.  If this mess were a headache, it’d be that low-level one that never quite incapacitates you, but it never goes away either. 

Well, I put in a good nine hours of work today.  I moved stuff.  I threw stuff away.  And yes, I broke stuff.  On purpose!  How cool is it to break stuff on purpose?  If the pay was better, I think Wrecking Ball Operator would be the most sought after profession on earth.  My destruction was on a smaller scale, but it still ruled.

Anyway, at long last, I finally finished up around 4:30.  The results are impressive, if I do say so myself.

050116garageafter

And…even more impressive…for what I think is the first time ever, the garage is able to accept two vehicles at the same time!

050116twocars

Wanton destruction and a garage doing precisely what it was built to do.  It’s the little things that keep us sane around here. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    January 17, 2005 6:00 pm

    Five gas cans??? It looks good.

  2. January 18, 2005 8:09 pm

    Wait a minute, you can put your car in the garage? So that is what they are for! I always wondered why I had a garage door opener on my car visor. It’s all becoming clear now! By the way, what is that big white box in the kitchen that is always cold inside for?

  3. January 19, 2005 2:10 pm

    Well, we’re not sure, but Jamie and I usually just keep our spoiled food in there.

Leave a Reply

