Skip to content

Of Two-Wheeled Excitement

November 11, 2004

There has been talk in our household recently about two-wheeled transportation.  And the strangest thing is, I am not the one who initiated it.  Jamie can take responsibility for that.  I’ll take the responsibility for being the one who blows it out of proprotion and carries it beyond all bounds of reason.

See, Jamie wants a Vespa.  She says she wants one because they are "cute", but I am convinced that it has do to with the fact that Audrey Hepburn rode one in Roman Holiday

Vespaet2

Now, I’d be all for this – Vespa’s are "cute", and good for traipsing around in – but when we move, the immediate road outside our new neighborhood will be a pretty substantial one, with a 55 MPH speed limit.  The Vespa ET2 can only go 40.  As Jamie suggested, she could "use it to go get the mail".

Of course, not to be outdone, I began contemplating two-wheeled transportation of my own.  I’m not really into motorcycles.  I abhor Harleys, and the supersport bikes that a few of my friends are into (Ducatis, Honda CBRs, etc) do nothing for me.  Still, I’ve always had a desire to learn to ride a motorcycle, in much the same way that other people want to learn to surf, or fence, or whatever. 

And with my background in offroading, and more recently mountain biking, well, there is one class of motorcycle that I do like – dual sports.  They are basically dirt bikes, but street legal, and more oriented to the road.  They are hugely popular in Europe, but not so much here.  My personal favorite is the Suzuki V-Strom 650, but a more economical choice would be the DR-Z400SM.

Drz400sm

Now, before people go freaking out and crying that we will "lose all of our skin" (parents), I would like to point out that this is nothing more than, and likely never to be anything more than, idle fantasizing.  After all, I still want an M4A3 Sherman , too, but I don’t see that coming around the bend anytime soon.

   

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    November 11, 2004 6:50 pm

    Chad’s mother would put you in the Sherman.

  2. November 11, 2004 8:00 pm

    Quote of the day part two:
    “Never stand and take a charge. Charge them too.”
    — General Nathan Bedford Forrest, CSA

  3. November 11, 2004 8:31 pm

    Sherman?
    Typical American. Inferior and mass produced. No soul.
    http://www.panzer-archiv.de/images/panzer/23/jagdpanther_7.jpg

  4. Dr. Love permalink
    November 15, 2004 9:18 pm

    I think you are confusing supermotard with dual-sport.

  5. Matt permalink
    November 16, 2004 7:25 am

    Yeah quite possibly. I’ll freely admit my ignorance about all things motorcycle related. What’s the difference?

Leave a Reply

