Skip to content

Well, then

October 20, 2004

I wish that I had more to say regarding my writing. But, excepting the exceedingly random comment in my flu posting, there’s really nothing new to be said.

Progress on Chapter XII continues. Slowly. I can’t believe I’ve been writing this stupid chapter since August (July if you count the first attempt).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2004 10:58 pm

    After perusing your sight may I recommend

    “Hannibal” by Theodore A Dodge, Boston 1891

    “Hannibal Enemy of Rome” by Leonard Cottrell, NY 1961

    “Roots of Strategy” edited by TR Phillips, Harrisburg 1940. Which includes “Military Institutions of the Romans” by Vegetius

    “History of Rome” by Theodor Mommsen, NY 1895

  2. Matt permalink
    October 22, 2004 7:42 am

    I actually already have both Dodge and Cottrell, and Vegetius (though his work was written in 390 A.D.) is available online.

    The amount of books that I’ve amassed for this project is absurd – just ask my wife. Of all of them, though, I would have to say I’ve found Adrian Goldsworthy’s “The Punic Wars” and J.F. Lazenby’s “Hannibal’s War” the most helpful in my task – aside from Polybius and Livy themselves. Just beyond them, Barrington’s massive and extremely well done “Atlas of the Greek and Roman World” and Friedrich Munzer’s “Roman Aristocratic Parties and Families”.

  3. October 29, 2004 12:21 am

    Who the heck is Servius? Is that Bischoff or that guy from vanderbilt whos ename i don’t remember who smoked a pipe and looked like George Stephanopolous? Or somebody else?

  4. October 29, 2004 9:05 am

    It is something of a mystery.

Leave a Reply

