Skip to content

Yes, I Have Been Delinquent.

September 27, 2004

So, it has been nearly two weeks since I have posted anything. For that I apologize, but I will not make the usual excuse of “things have been busy lately”. Frankly, I have been intending to post, but have never quite gotten around to it. I’ve even started a few posts – the last one of which was unceremoniously erased when my computer locked up.

For the mollification of everyone who keeps tabs on my comings and goings through this blog, I figure I should probably offer a brief account of recent happenings.

Work:
Goes well. Things have been hectic for the past couple weeks, and really only slowed down towards the end of the one just passed. I continue to explore the Byzantine depths of the telecommunications industry and keep track of the latest happenings in the world of automobiles.

Vehicles:
The Defender nears selling condition. The Tuffy console is installed, the fender flares firmly attached, and much of the crap has been cleaned out. I still need to get around to ordering those ball joints, though.

The Xterra, meanwhile, found itself out of commission for the first time Friday. A massive rivet somehow found a way into my rear passenger tire. My attempts to change it came to nothing when I managed to break the rod used to operate the spare tire winch. Thankfully the Nissan dealership is a block from the house.

The Dogs:
Are doing well. Yesterday Sam and I went on an extended hike through the trails at Walnut Creek. A good time was had by all, though the most amusing part of the trek was Sam’s bewildered barking at the minnows in the creek.

Chapter XII:
In the past month, it seems that my writing style has become less Patton and more Montgomery. Progress has been slow and often transitory. I’ve become hung up on little things, and found myself writing paragraphs in a night where before I’d written pages. Thankfully, however, I seem to be coming out of it. I just got past a particularly troublesome section during lunch today, and get to start fresh this evening.

I have to admit, though, that I would require the ability to freeze time in order to complete the manuscript by Thanksgiving. Stupid Montgomery.

Books:
Upon learning that the next book in Jack Whyte’s Camulod series, The Lance Thrower, is out, I’ve not only picked up a copy but begun the entire saga over again, beginning with The Skystone. To this day, I have yet to come across a better portrayal of how Arthur, and Excalibur, and Camelot came to be. There is no magic, no “watery tart” throwing swords about, just gritty history, a collapsing empire, and a band of Romans who decide to stay in Britain after the legions leave. I cannot recommend these books highly enough, and rereading them after five or so years is a true pleasure.

That’s all for now. Oh, and go see Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow! Don’t ask, just do it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

