Skip to content

Sign Me Up!

September 13, 2004

It is well founded that I find cows infinitely amusing. I may have a disinclination toward the feline members of the animal kingdom, but certainly not the amiable bovines.

Of course, living in a city, even with the yard that a spot in the suburbs affords, owning a cow is not really practical. And as relaxing as the occasional moo would be, I for one wouldn’t like to live with a) no grass and b) cow patties everywhere.

Well, allow me to extend a hand of thanks to Raul Hernandez, Cuban rancher:

“Rancher Raul Hernandez’s cows look just like other breeds – only they are no larger than big dogs. They’re a perfect source of milk for Cuban families, he says.

Standing about 23 to 28 inches tall, the minicows can be kept in a small area and they feed on simple grasses, Hernandez says. “

It’s touching that Cuban families can drink milk and all (I guess the advertising is working), but Raul doesn’t know what he has here! Minicows! That look just like real ones, but they’re the size of a dog! And, like all cows, I’m going to assume these are domesticated. Which means…PET MINICOWS!

Yes, now you can have your own pet minicow, keeping your yard nice and trim (no more lawnmower – you’ve got a natural one!), mooing gently from time to time, proving a good friend for your herding dog, and even providing delicious milk for your family.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2004 10:52 am

    Oh my gosh, I would TOTALLY buy a minicow…

  2. Kay permalink
    September 13, 2004 1:26 pm

    You’d still have cow patties everywhere.

  3. September 13, 2004 2:02 pm

    I kind of do already…

  4. September 13, 2004 4:43 pm

    I can’t believe Mark doesn’t have anything to say about this…

  5. September 14, 2004 12:27 am

    Could you still tip them?
    They could be starter cows for toddler rednecks to practice on.

  6. September 14, 2004 10:38 pm

    Ten bucks says that when Mark finally gets around to reading and commenting on this he will say something along the lines of….”If I had a pet mini-cow I would name him Cooper McMoomin” (in a British accent). Do I know the boy or what?!

  7. Mark permalink
    September 14, 2004 11:09 pm

    Matt if you and I were still living together at The Gables, a mini-cow would have been so perfect as a confidante to “Gareth”, the trash-eating goat who was slated to live on our second floor balcony so we never had to take out the trash.

    Oh my god a mini-cow as a household pet living on our balcony??!! Totally practical! It would be “A Taming of the Moo”. Unless of course he rebelled. Then we would have ourselves a “Mootiny on the Balcony”

    If I had a mini-cow, I would name him “Moo Radley” and laugh as Brian or Tracy or any of the other college chums scratched their heads unable to work out the Harper Lee reference….but the cow would get it, because our mini-cow would be well read in the classics. If I had two mini-cows, I would call the other one “Moostaffa Kamil” or maybe just “Fertilizer McGee”

    How much does it cost to buy one and is there anyone in the world who wouldn’t want one as a wedding gift instead of a seive from Crate and Barrel? GOD I WANT A MINI-COW! WE COULD FEED IT MINI CARAMEL BUNDT CAKES AND CADBURY’S MINI-EGGS!

  8. September 15, 2004 8:53 am

    Or we could have named him Cardinal Richimoo and fed him Three Musketeers bars…

  9. Mark permalink
    September 15, 2004 10:33 am

    Eureka that’s perfect! Cardinal Richimoo….and here I was all happy with my play on word “Mootiny” “Moo-Tiny” or “Tiny-Moo” a.k.a. “Mini-cow”

  10. September 16, 2004 9:36 pm

    Sigh. Followed by slow head shake and big eye-roll.

    That’s all.

Leave a Reply

