Skip to content

Calling Captain Obvious…

August 27, 2004

According to a study done by the AAA and Volvo Cars of North America, the biggest cause of aggravation on America’s roads is…get this…OTHER DRIVERS.

Really, Bob?

You know, when I think about it, other drivers are responsible for about 99% of all of my problems with driving. Potholes, rampant road construction, and the occasional stupid pedestrian (I drive by Austin Community College on my way to and from work) annoy me as well, but pretty much its other drivers. Slowing down to ZERO to turn right. Flying through traffic at absurd speeds and distances. Not having enough control of their vehicles to keep them in the marked lanes. Not stopping. Or stopping for like thirty seconds. Going too fast. Going to slow. Creating that sick, malignant beast that we call rush hour traffic.

Thankfully, I have a solution. I think we should simply get rid of OTHER DRIVERS. I mean, when I’m on my way to do some biking at 5:45 in the morning, I’m never aggravated. The road is empty, and I am at peace.

Or better yet, there should be a sweeping goverment initiative to get people to work from home. At least, say, two days a week.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mark permalink
    August 27, 2004 3:02 pm

    My mantra for years has been “Get the heck off the road…this is MY ROAD I pay taxes for it.” Sadly no one seems to listen.

Leave a Reply

