Skip to content

The Neverending Story

August 26, 2004

Remember that movie? With the giant white flying dog thing? I think we watched it on the last day of classes every single year from first through sixth grade. And all I remember is that dog thing and those freaky statues collapsing. I can’t even remember if it sucked.

But yes, in my somewhat-less-than-obscure reference, it feels like I’m currently stuck in my own neverending story. Chapter XII is the chapter that simply would not end. Of course, I realize the rewrite is to blame for much of that. I mean, writing nearly seventy pages and then scrapping them all and starting over. Yeah, that’ll drag things out.

It has been worse than that these past couple days, though. Vancouver had something to do with it – but vacations always have a way of throwing my writing schedule out of whack. And Monday night suffered from a lack of output. Nothing like those rip-out-sheets-of-paper-for-three-hours fests I’ve had, but nothing I was particularly satisfied with, either.

Well, today it clicked. Like when you manage to get that screen door back on its rails and it slides nice and smooth.

Not to say I am anywhere near done. I still have eight sections left to write in the Battle of Cannae before I can close out the chapter. But who doesn’t like progress (besides the Amish)?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2004 4:46 pm

    Oh, that movie most definitely did NOT suck 🙂

    By the way, I am hopelessly in love with your dogs!!

  2. August 26, 2004 11:55 pm

    I loved that song from The Neverending Story…..

    “Turn around, look at what you see-ee-ee-ee
    In her face, the mirror of your dreams
    Make believe I’m everywhere, living in your eyes
    Written on the pages is the answer to our nev-er-end-ing story………”

    And no, I’m not embarrassed that I can remember that song. OK. I am a little.

  3. August 27, 2004 10:32 am

    Okay here’s another sad one…the big flying dog? Yeah, I know his name: Falcor. Um, yeah. Falcor.

  4. August 27, 2004 11:17 am

    I find it ironic that the movie is only 94 minutes long (Thanks IMDB!).

Leave a Reply

