Skip to content

Get a Grip!

July 30, 2004

I know. Lame title.

After lots of deliberating and reading and reading and staring at shiny packages in stores and reading, I finally ponied up for some nifty bar ends for the Trek. Their purpose is twofold. The first, and most obvious, is a second hand position, so your fingers don’t go all numb. The second is that bar ends put your wrists at a better angle when you’re out of the saddle (the seat) and can help you get up right over the front wheel for uphill traction.

I also got a nifty pair of locking grips for the bar itself. They are super easy to put on, and they are thicker than the stock grips were. I haven’t ridden them yet, but I’m looking most forward to it.

It was fun to get a nod of respect at the bike shop when I purchased them, rather than the sort of indifferent arrogance I usually pick up on. The, “oh, he’s a rookie…” thing. I guess that means I picked out good ones.

04-07-30---Bar-Ends

I know. It’s like offroading, but without the cost of gas or insurance…

And, due to popular demand, here are the aerobars that Jamie got on her road bike. They should take some of the pressure off her hands on those long rides.

040731jamiesaerobars

I like how they say F-19, like its some kind of jet fighter or something. Still, they do look intimidating.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    July 30, 2004 5:27 pm

    Where’s the picture of Jamie’s new grips?

  2. Matt permalink
    July 30, 2004 11:07 pm

    I took it in the garage…and it came out all fuzzy. I’ll give it a go tomorrow.

  3. August 1, 2004 12:40 am

    They’re OK, I guess…

    What they really need, though, are some purple sparkly glittery streamer thingees!! Then they’d rock!

  4. Matt permalink
    August 1, 2004 3:03 pm

    Actually, I’ve been looking for that little orange flag-on-a-pole. But first, I need to stick a baseball card in my spokes so I can pretend I really have a motorcycle!

  5. August 2, 2004 12:11 am

    Don’t forget the bell for your handlebars that looks like a bellhop bell, but you ring it with your thumb.

    Now that I think about it….what was the purpose of that little bell??

  6. Matt permalink
    August 2, 2004 7:19 am

    Pissing off parents and neighbors

  7. August 2, 2004 12:24 pm

    Oh yeah. That’s right.

    I used to pretend to be an ambulance with mine. Or an ice-cream truck.

  8. Mark permalink
    August 3, 2004 1:27 pm

    Pissing off parents and neighbors…..Matt’s favorite pastime….. Remember the roof of McDougall Manor…and the dog…..and the slingshot…..and how you combined the three? oh those were the days!

Leave a Reply

