Skip to content

Gettin’ Dirty

June 6, 2004

Friday night, just after Sam and I got back from returning an overdue movie, it began to rain. Hard rain with big, gusting winds. If you live in Texas, you know the breed.

This posed a problem. See, our lawn was looking rather like the Mekong Delta, and was badly in need of a good mowing. Rain, however, equals wet grass, which equals clogged mower, which equals pissed off Matt kicking lawnmower, which equals pissed off Matt lying on ground, pissed off and lawnmower for breaking Matt’s foot. This is a situation that should be avoided.

And so I sat there and thought. What could I do to kill time until late morning? Finally, it came to me.

“Honey,” I said to my dear wife, “I think I might try to get up and go do some mountain biking tomorrow.”

Jamie looks at me with that ‘this isn’t really a great idea you’re having’ look.

“Won’t you get all muddy?” she asks.

“Yes. That’s half the fun!”

So Saturday morning, while Jamie blissfully slept in (something I can no longer physically do), I got up and ventured out for a bout of mountain biking. Somehow, I find biking offroad more exciting and strangely more relaxing than biking onroad. So I came back muddy (yea!), exhausted (boo!) and thoroughly happy.

And, fun as always, the dirty bike gave me a chance to use my macro lens for one of my faux-artistic photographs.

04-06-06-Mountain-Biking-Af

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2004 11:14 am

    Hey Matt–

    What kind of camera are you using? I have a new Nikon CoolPix that got rave reviews in the consumer pubs and is NOT living up to my expectations. Takes forever to focus and it is SLOW!!

  2. Matt permalink
    June 7, 2004 3:41 pm

    Olympus C-5050.

    I’ve used a few other digital cameras in my time – I even have a super-mondo Nikon D-100 – but Olympus is consistently better.

    The flash is a bit intrusive, and the camera itself is somewhat bulky (not as much as an SLR), but other than that I love the 5050.

Leave a comment