Skip to content

Atlantis, Atlanta, Whatever…

June 1, 2004

Over the long weekend, the wife and I got away from the daily humidity – I mean grind – of Austin. Our destination? A resort known as Atlantis in the Bahamas.

How, you ask, was our brief excursion to paradise (indeed, Atlantis sits upon the aptly named Paradise Island)?

Well, our time at Atlantis was great. The resort is huge, with pools everywhere, and a huge, maze-like aquarium that is home to everything from sharks to sea turtles to a giant manta ray. The entire place was more touristy than I’d imagined, not to mention crowded, but relaxing nonetheless. Among some of the interesting things we did:

– Scuba diving (though I only did this in a pool, and declined a more aggressive dive to enjoy my novel)
– Swam (or sat on a platform in the water) with a dolphin by the name of Stormy
– Read. A lot. I finally finished The Dream of Scipio, and also put away the second in Newt Gingrich’s alternate history of the Civil War, Grant Comes East.
– Enjoyed a water slide
– And several pina coladas

Oh, and lest we not forget, Jamie had the ill fortune of breaking her pinkie toe when she unwittingly mistook a beach chair for a soccer ball. Atlantis, we found, is lacking in proper medical facilities.

Overall, Atlantis was relaxing and a good time. A good place to take kids, too, though Jamie and I don’t think we will be returning just by ourselves. Too many other places we want to go.

Unfortunately (for me at least), much of the relaxation derived from our vacation was torn away on Monday. Thanks to storms in Atlanta and bungling by Delta (unimaginable!), our return journey was a leisurely fourteen hours. What should have been an arrival in Austin around 7 PM became 1 AM. Needless to say, I did not feel rested in the least for work this morning. And Austin’s suffocating humidity did not help.

Alas, thus passed our vacation, which reinforced the joy of sun and surf, as well as the aggravation that is air travel.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark permalink
    June 2, 2004 4:37 pm

    I have no electricity at the office at the moment. It’s a furnace….stupid electrical storm wiped out the A.C … I feel for ya. Sorry to hear about Jamie’s toe..having smashed mine up playing tennis a few times, I know it can be pretty rough.

    By the way, Stormy is a really good name for a dolphn…and good foreshadowing too.

  2. Mark permalink
    June 2, 2004 4:39 pm

    But…. if I had a dolphin of my own, I’d call it Digsby….and if not that, then Desmond.

  3. Matt permalink
    June 2, 2004 6:58 pm

    I hear that shortly after we left Iago hatched his scheme…

    And if you have no electricity, how are you on the internet?

Leave a Reply

