Skip to content

Yea Me!

April 17, 2004

Well, Jamie is gone this weekend for the MS150. Even right now she is probably cutting down the miles from Houston to Austin on her bike.

I’ve remained in Austin so that I might attend a friend’s wedding tonight, and Jamie is under the impression that every second of the weekend aside from the wedding I plan to devote to writing.

She’s not quite correct. Instead, I’ve invested several hours this morning in preparing a surprise present for her.

About two weeks ago, I made my way to the Honda dealership and bought a hitch for Jamie’s Pilot. Yesterday, I bought her a corresponding bike rack. This morning, I installed both. Now she will no longer have to lower the back seats and shove the bike into the back, she can just put it on the carrier, nice and easy like.

How did it go? The rack was a piece of cake. Ten minutes. The hitch, on the other hand…it was light enough just carrying around, but when you are under the back of a vehicle, trying to lift this 60-some-odd inch wide piece of metal into place, it’s not so light. Even more fun, the muffler somewhat got in the way.

Thankfully, I did manage to get it installed, thanks to the clever use of a jack, two jack stands, a screwdriver, several sockets and extensions, and my trusty 3/8″ impact gun.

Jamie won’t have a clue about it until I go to pick her up tomorrow. Hopefully, she’ll like it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ronnie Frantom permalink
    April 19, 2004 11:57 am

    So…..how did she like it? How was her ride from Houston?

    -Ronnie

  2. Matt permalink
    April 19, 2004 4:29 pm

    The ride from Houston went well – she made the hundred miles to La Grange, and I went out and picked her up Sunday morning.

    Considering she only took up biking in February and the group she was with only trained sporadically, it was phenomenal.

    As for the bike carrier, she loves it.

  3. April 19, 2004 6:32 pm

    Well, that sounds like a long way to me! Doubt I could do it! Congrats to her for the 100 miles she did for a great cause!

Leave a Reply

