Skip to content

Fabrizio Quattrocchi

April 16, 2004

The press has been labelling this man, the Italian hostage killed by Iraqis the other day, as a hero.

While I am not sure I would use that epithet, his action certainly was brave and defiant. He refused to give the insurgents what they really wanted; a screaming, weeping Italian to shoot in the back of the head.

Instead, just before his death, he cried out “Now I’ll show you how an Italian dies!”.

Al-Jazeera has said they would not broadcast the tape due to the violence of the atrocity. Right, like that has ever stopped them before. They refused to broadcast because the anti-Western propaganda would have backfired thanks to Quattrocchi’s defiance.

Today my thoughts are with the family of this brave man, and with all of Italy as they mourn his loss. His courage to meet death with his eyes open, to not let the jihadists break his spirit, is an inspiration to all of us.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2004 11:57 pm

    can’t help but agree with you 100% on this one.

  2. Trish permalink
    May 12, 2004 3:34 pm

    I would just like to say that I am so proud of Mr. Quattrocchi. It’s about time that someone held their pride in the midst of tragedy. Ahmad Fadhil al-Khalayleh and the rest of his psycho followers will get what is coming. I don’t understand why people can not see that Al Qaeda and Islamic extremist groups are crazy, sick sadistic people. We are trying to bring peace to their communities only in vain. These people have been fighting for centuries to no avail. In my opinion I don’t think we are making a difference. Several Countries have lost good people to these psychotic individuals. Leave them alone and let them kill each other off. Pull back the troops!!! I don’t consider this losing…I consider it a smart move. They will NEVER have a democracy. How are we supposed to help them when they think we are after their oil…Let me tell you our government has already created several fuel alternatives that are being tested right now. They will never trust or like Americans and out Allies. I will tell you this…Mr. Quattrocchi brave reaction to his execution has brought courage to the troops. If I had the choice to die quietly on my knees or fighting them off….They Would have to kill me in a hurry before I killed them.

Leave a Reply

