Skip to content

I Just Noticed…

April 14, 2004

As I was transferring files over to the new USB drive the other day, I set up an “Edit” folder so that I could have copies of the novel chapters to mark up as I go along. While I was doing so, I opened a few and read a little bit.

A few things that I noticed as I read my earlier chapters:

1. Surprisingly, I don’t hate them.
2. Somewhere along the way, I completely changed my section headings, and added dates.
3. Lots of typos. I may type fast, but apparently not always pretty.
4. My opening list of characters is in dire need of restructuring.

It also struck me that my writing has been getting better, at least in my eyes. Or perhaps I’ve been getting more into a groove, more comfortable with the characters and the story.

Whatever the cause, it is something that’s never happened before. My previous novel attempts have been marked by extremely strong starts that quickly unravel before my eyes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    April 14, 2004 5:57 pm

    Considering all those Roman names, I think you’re doing great with the typing.

  2. Matt permalink
    April 15, 2004 9:08 am

    But for me…the Roman names are old hat now. Gnaeus Servilius Geminus may as well be Bob Thomas.

Leave a Reply

