Skip to content

On Resistance

April 8, 2004

Tuesday evening, after work, I came home to an empty house. Jamie had her class until seven, and I had time to kill. I figured I’d take Sam and go walking. I’d missed the opportunity in the morning thanks to an inconvenient downpour. I change while the dogs eat, let them go outside to fertilize the lawn, and then grab Sam and go.

For some reason, the walk was gruelling. It wasn’t my knees hurting, but my shins. I suppose it was because I hadn’t stretched before setting out. Anyway, I put up with it and keep going, but once I begin to circle back to the house it really begins pissing me off. Then I realized it was Resistance. As Steven Pressfield describes it, Resistance is that which keeps us from doing our work. Procrastination, laziness, fear, rationalization, excuses.

Well, this time, this day, my shins were giving me a way out. A way to slow down, walk at a leisurely pace. Nobody would be the wiser, and Sam only speaks Uzbek, so who would he have told?

However, once I realized that I was facing Resistance, I was determined to overcome it. What did I do? Did I keep walking through the pain? No, I did not.

I began running.

When Resistance rears its ugly head, the best thing to do is lean into the wind, redouble your efforts, and press on.

Lo and behold, my shins stopped hurting. It was a small moment, insignificant in the greater scheme of things, but to me it was one more triumph over Resistance.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ronnie Frantom permalink
    April 9, 2004 8:59 am

    Ok Matt, after reading your blog site for a while now I have started my own. All it is right now is a test blog so not much to see. Hopefully I will get more on it soon. Can I link to your blog?

    http://www.ronnie.frantom2.com

    Thanks,
    Ronnie

  2. Matt permalink
    April 9, 2004 10:06 am

    Sure thing

  3. Ronnie Frantom permalink
    April 13, 2004 12:25 pm

    You know Matt, you have a point with these resistance posts. I run into resistence the most when I’m at work! But lately I have been (like yourself) noticing when I’m putting things off due to resistance and just doing it anyways! It works! Once you just get into it most of the time it’s not as bad as you thought. Still, after doing this for a couple of days and seeing that it normally isn’t that bad I still notice it coming up!

    Resistance never takes a day off!

    Latah playa,
    Ronnie

Leave a Reply

