Skip to content

Quote(s) of the Day

March 19, 2004

Since I missed yesterday:

“You are never given a wish without also being given the power to make it come true. You may have to work for it, however.” – Richard Bach

This sounds nice, and in many cases I am inclined to agree with it. Except that, for a long time now, I’ve wished that I could freeze time. I don’t see that happening, even if I work for it.

“These times of ours are serious and full of calamity, but all times are essentially alike. As soon as there is life there is danger.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

A curious application of perception, one that we fall victim to as surely as countless generations before. Every generation seems to believe the world which it inhabits is inferior and more violent and depraved than th eone before. Heck, it was one of Cicero’s main themes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 22, 2004 10:42 am

    Love the quotes, Matt. Richard Bach was one of my favorites in undergrad. I think my copy of “Illusions” finally disintegrated. Then I went through my “Bridge Across Forever” stage…which basically just makes you discontent with every relationship you might ever have…;^)

    Not a huge fan of his later stuff….

Leave a Reply

